Testimonials

15 Feb 2016

I took sewing classes with Sue for about 3 months during my yearlong trip in Melbourne. Prior to her classes I had no experience sewing — after a few months of weekly classes I learned how to thread a machine, sew different types of stitches/seams, and even create my own garment. The classes were small (around 4 people max) and in Sue’s home which was a very relaxed atmosphere. I could sew at my own pace and schedule as many or as few classes as I wanted per week. Sue is very patient and knowledgable teacher and I would definitely recommend her classes. Alex Hsu review on Google+

 

Melbourne sewing classes at Sew Good. Review in The Weekly Review by Jan Fisher

Melbourne sewing classes at Sew Good.       Review in The Weekly Review                                 by Jan Fisher 19th August 2015

 

The reviews below you will find on Google+

Melissa Toifl

a week ago
I have been attending sewing classes with Sue for several months now and have learned so much. As a beginner sewer who struggled to correctly thread my machine and had no idea how to read a pattern I was apprehensive about attending sewing classes in case I didn’t know enough and wouldn’t be able to keep up. However Sue is a very patient, enthusiastic, encouraging and brilliant teacher who is professional in her approach and clearly very knowledgeable about all things related to sewing. She always takes the time to explain everything in clear simple terms and easily adapts her explanations to make perfect sense regardless of your level of experience. In addition, small class sizes mean that she is able to spend plenty of time with everyone in the class. And, as you select your own projects, you are learning whilst making or altering something of your choosing which makes the classes excellent value for money. I would highly recommend Sue and Sew Good to anyone wanting to learn to sew or wishing to advance their sewing skills.

Kris Henry

5 months ago
An honest review of my thoughts and experience – Pros Location: Fabulous – free parking which saves both time and money; Cost: I searched Melbourne and you won’t find any cheaper; Talent: Highly qualified, motivated and outstandingly talented; Personality: Friendly, calm and extremely patient – A+; Availability: Very accommodating and deserves the same respect. Con If you are a super shorty like me please don’t hesitate to ask Sue for a pillow to sit on as the chairs are a little low for the table. It is important to be comfortable and Sue will help you with this.

Angela Bliss

3 months ago
My daughter and I have been going to Sue for several months and have found her to be an excellent and patient teacher. I found her through GumTree and I was a little nervous about what to expect but have been very happy. I’d highly recommend Sue and Sew Good.

Faye Lovell

5 months ago
I was very aprehensive when I booked in for my first sewing class with Sue because I had absolutely no idea how to thread a needle let alone sew a something ! I was afraid I would be a nuisance. I shouldn’t have worried because from the second Sue opened the door I was instantly put at ease and made to feel welcome . Each week I gained so much knowledge and started making things I never dreamt I was capable of. After only 3 classes I proudly wore home the first blouse I had finished, my family were amazed !! I highly recommend Sue as a teacher, her classes are small. We have lots of fun learning so much in the relaxed and happy atmosphere of her gorgeous home . Sue never wearies of me asking her the same questions over and over, whilst she is very professional we also have lots of laughs and sewing class is always fun. I look forward to my classes in 2014. Thanks so much Sue.

Christine Mitchell

a month ago
I am presently thoroughly enjoying having sewing classes with Sue. I have never had classes before and was very reluctant to pursue something like this, although, I have always wanted to try. My fear of being embarrassed due to my lack of knowledge with a sewing machine, even patterns etc , where mind boggling to me. From the very first meeting Sue had a happy smile on her face, which instantly made me feel very welcome in her home. Surprisingly I was relaxed and very comfortable in her presence, and ready to commence my first lesson. The other ladies in the class are also very relaxed in Sues’ presence and am happy to say have made new friendships. Sue has a lovely disposition, very professional but in a casual environment. Her communication skills, her patience and knowledge on all facets of sewing is incredible to me. I have even made a dress from the very beginning and lined it, altered jeans and a top .I also made some incredible cards for Christmas using leftover material from the cushions I made .I am very proud of myself and also Sue for making me feel that I can do it, which I know now I can. If you are considering sewing classes but are feeling like I did in the past, then, I urge you to take the plunge like I me and I know you will not regret it. Sue will make sure of that. Thanks for everything Sue, really appreciate it. Chrissy

January 9th 2014

Penny a student emailed me this lovely review tonight. She did not want to have to go through the registering process required on Hot Frog, WOMO online etc….

SewGood sewing classes started off as an interest and hobby but has since has changed my life.  I didn’t even have a working machine when I started SewGood sewing classes.  Sue was very generous lending her machine until I found & purchased a new one of my own (which she also helped me with). I barely knew how to thread a machine before I started sewing classes.  But with Sue’s kind and patient guidance I soon learnt about the grain of fabrics, cutting, reading patterns, different stitches and seams and much much more.  Sewing with Sue is very relaxed in a comfortable and friendly environment.  What I gained in knowledge that I’m now using for my business is beyond what I ever thought I would learn.  So if learning to sew has ever interested you, do not hesitate to give it a go with SewGood sewing classes.  Thanks Sue, I have loved every minute of sewing with you!

Penny

  • FANTASTIC – JUST LOVE IT”

      • 5/5 stars
    • CHRISSY

    Review of Susan Murphy, February 18, 2013

    I can honestly say I look forward to Thursdays when I have my class with Sue. She always has a smile on her face,so helpful, very very patient and very encouraging. Her knowledge appears to be endless. Sue has taught me how to make garments from scratch, and importantly instead of paying for new clothes (because your size has changed) just alter your favourite jeans, skirts, dresses and tops that you still love. I have also made some gorgeous Birthday cards, that I have great pride in sending to family and friends, just something that is extra special .I recommend just trying one lesson with Sue and I guarantee that you will be back and have a great experience.

    • Pros:
    • Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator
    • How was this location?:
    • Awesome
    • How was the price?:
    • Great value

    I would recommend this teacher

    “Sue is one of a kind”

      • 5/5 stars
    • Alice Liddington-Cox

    Review of Susan Murphy, February 01, 2013

    Sue Murphy was my year 12 textiles teacher in 2010. I decided to make a quite intricate, time-intensive Mad Hatter’s Costume. She never doubted my abilities for a second and constantly encouraged me. Without a doubt the best textiles teacher I have ever had. Her dedication to our class was impeccable; She came in at lunchtimes and weekends to help us with our garments. She wanted us to succeed and create something beautiful that we were proud of. We all achieved that. We all felt so fortunate to have her as a teacher, mentor and friend that year. She is one of a kind!

    • Pros:
    • Helpful, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Fun, Good communicator
    • How was this location?:
    • Awesome
    • How was the price?:
    • Great value

    I would recommend this teacher



  • “Sew…Very…Goood !!!”

      • 5/5 stars
    • Zoe Konstantatos

    Review of Susan Murphy, January 31, 2013

    Sue is such a lovely lady. What a wonderful sewing instructor. She has such patience with me even when I get so frustrated with myself because I just couldn’t sew in a straight line. She gives me the confidence that I need & I have someone to share my ideas & show off my finished projects to. It is “SEW GOOD” to have someone guide you in such a professional way. It’s pretty obvious she’s been a teacher for a long time,she has the patience of a saint. I’m really impressed with myself for finding her. She had an ad. on Gumtree & she has a great set up at her place. I could take my own sewing machine but she helped me out with equipment & things I forgot. She has me better organised with my sewing kit now. And Sue showed me some great things I can do with my machine, like using a twin needle that I never knew about. I’m getting better at sewing my straight lines & doing things I always wanted to do. I can’t praise her enough or myself for getting so lucky in finding the right person! Seriously, if you need someone one on one or for a group you couldn’t do better than Sue. Look up Sew Good.

    • Pros:
    • Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator
    • How was this location?:
    • OK
    • How was the price?:
    • Great value

    I would recommend this teacher



  • “From the first day I was hooked !”

      • 5/5 stars
    • Faye lovell

    Review of Susan Murphy, January 30, 2013

    Sue is a wonderfully kind person, generous with her time and knowledge.

    I was apprehensive initially but I was soon put at ease by this this gorgeous girl.
    I honestly held little hope for my ability to understand the complexities of a sewing machine let alone cut out a pattern and make a garment ! But here I am 3 months later, having cut out and made many new pieces. I look forward to our lessons so much. It ‘s often the most fun part of my week !

    • Pros:
    • Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator
    • How was this location?:
    • Awesome
    • How was the price?:
    • Great value

    I would recommend this teacher



  • “Such a great teacher!”

      • 5/5 stars
    • Sarah

    Review of Susan Murphy, January 30, 2013

    Sue has taught me so much about sewing. I hadn’t done sewing for such a long time and the lessons I had with her really helped.
    She has not only helped me with working out patterns but also on how to alter them for my needs. She was also incredibly helpful and sourcing me patterns.
    We have done a ball gown and a costume similar to a school uniform and I would never have been able to do them without Sue.
    She is incredibly helpful and that is what makes her lessons so enjoyable.

    • Pros:
    • Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Patient, Fun, Good communicator
    • How was this location?:
    • Awesome
    • How was the price?:
    • Great value

    I would recommend this teacher

     These testimonials were from
  • http://domore.com.au/teacher/susan-murphy

© sewgoodwithsue 2017

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s